Review for Desert Essence Natural Tea Tree Oil & Neem toothpaste.

Standard

tootpaste by EdibleShoes

Awhile back I decided to take a more natural approach towards oral care, I had swollen red gums that turned tender and sometimes bled when I brushed too hard. Instead of doing what a normal person would do, go to the dentist, I bought two different kinds of toothpastes with tea tree oil.

Here I am reviewing Desert Essence’s Natural Tea Tree Oil & Neem Toothpaste.

Purchased while on sale @ 4.26, I had hoped the price reflected quality. Let’s look at the

INGREDIENTS: Calcium Carbonate, Glycerin (Vegetable Derived), Water (Aqua), Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Distillate, Sodium Coco-Sulfate, Carrageenan (Plant Derived), Gaultheria Procumbens (Wintergreen) Leaf Oil, Sodium Bicarbonate, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil*, Melia Azadirachta Extract (Neem), Sea Salt. Eco-Harvest®

 

…What?

What is all this garbage? I cannot recall the ingredients listed here being those listed on the box – which has been thrown out some time ago so I got this off the internet. I bought this item MOSTLY for the Tea tree oil and Neem, both of which are very good for blood flow, being antiseptic and healing. I cannot label this paste a herbal toothpaste. The amount of Neem used as well as Tea tree oil and Wintergreen? Minuscule OR because the tootpaste itself is not homogeneous in nature – it varies BUT always know, when a item is listed closer to the end of the list its amount in the concoction is less than that which is the first listed item.

According to Wikipedia:

 “Companies …. manufacture natural and herbal toothpastes and market them to consumers who wish to avoid the artificial ingredients commonly found in regular toothpastes. Many herbal toothpastes do not contain fluoride or sodium lauryl sulfate. The ingredients found in natural toothpastes vary widely but often include baking soda, aloe, eucalyptus oil, myrrh, plant extract (strawberry extract), and essential oils

This item contains Sodium Coco-Sulfate. Take out the coco and its just plain old Sodium lauryl sulfate – the only difference between the two is the processing of fatty acids, this type is from coconuts. Then there is Sea salt…THIS IS THE LAST INGREDIENT I WOULD WANT IN MY TOOTHPASTE BUT! Salt, especially Sea salt has an antibacterial quality and is used in homeopathic cures. I personally am sitting on the fence since I am sensitive to salt, since using this product I noticed bloating – I THINK I will stop using it a bit of time to see if its the cause.

So by now if you haven’t figured, I’m not too thrilled on the ingredient list – I’ve tasted Neem before and definitely tea tree oil and they are both strong herbs which leave my mouth tingly and refreshed. What did this paste do?

Well I can say it surely foams VERY well; I have never used a paste that foams like this one does thanks to all the carbonates, bicarbonates and sodium whatevers in the paste. The taste is not a strong Wintergreen, and I surely do not note Neem or much tea tree. It does not whiten teeth, there was never a promise of that anyway – but it needs to be mentioned nor does it clean up stains from earlier in the day.

Final result?

5 out of 10.

I was really happy with the packaging but that means nothing to my healthcare. It foams well and the container is nicely designed, for this price I would be better off with Sensodyne. The mixture has dark off white lumps in there that I assume would be the flavoring agents that are sorely missed. In general I have never been too thrilled with Desert Essence’s products even if they are made in NY.

 

I think for now I’ll use my Gma’s AIM toothpaste. It was only .99 Cents – Why is toothpaste so expensive these days??

Thanks for reading,

-Bad touch Bear

 

5 thoughts on “Review for Desert Essence Natural Tea Tree Oil & Neem toothpaste.

  1. I too get limited choices in terms of toothpaste. though I don’t have any gum problems but I am very choosy. And yeah,they never come cheap 😦 😦 Around 1.4 dollars for 2.8oz and they keep increasing too fast… Herbal/natural,only 1 brand was good among all I have tried …

    Like

Leave a Reply

