A review of Nuts.com, Butternut Peanut

Standard

 

Nuts-logo-heart-e6d26638 by EdibleShoes

Its been a while since I’ve done a review, I actually have a couple stacked up but I figure I would do one based off a more recent purchase. You can go and read their About page here; but basically its a nice family owned establishment dating back to the depression and based in New Jersey. Its cute, the nut icons around the site are cute, the layout is simple but the products?

I’m not too sure what I was googling one night that lead me to their site, it might have been I was looking up new grains to try and wanted to compare from my usual site. Sixty dollars and ninty six cents later I had placed a order. What the hell did I buy I bet your asking – I honestly bought a little bit of everything I buy from my normal health food provider, cept these items always start at one pound and there is no free shipping or discounts (that I am aware of).

YOUR ORDER
==========
Will ship on Thursday, February 5, 2015 and should arrive on Saturday the 7th.
1 lb. Butternut Peanuts 1 pound bags
1 lb. French Burnt Peanuts 1 pound bags
1 lb. Wasabi Peanuts 1 pound bags
1 lb. Buffalo Peanuts 1 pound bags
1 lb. Pitted Dates 1 pound bags
1 lb. Goji Berries 1 pound bags
1 lb. Organic Amaranth 1 pound bags
1 lb. Teff Whole Grain 1 pound bags
1 lb. Chia Seeds 1 pound bags

My order arrived at a prompt time AND they included a small sampler of dried figs. In hindsight I should have bought the figs and ditched some other items! The bags packaged in are nice, they are brightly colored and have a soft plastic texture…BUT the box had packaging peanuts in it. Not eco friendly. I’m going to break this up into separate entries so it will hopefully be found on search engines easier. (If you haven’t caught on yet – these are NOT 100% happy reviews) Reading the reviews on the website are ALL positive and non specific; a real website has bad reviews too.

Lets start with the Butternut Peanut @ 3.99/LB.

Peanuts in a rich buttery coating make up butternut peanuts. A real treat for that peanut lover with a sweet tooth. – Description from website

Nutrition Facts

Serving size 38g (~1.3 oz.)

Amount per serving
Calories 200
Calories from Fat 90
%DV
Total Fat 11g 16%
Saturated Fat 2g 10%
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 190mg 8%
Total Carbohydrate 15g 5%
Dietary Fiber 1g 5%
Sugars 19g
Protein 4g
Vitamin A 0%
Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 0%
Iron 2%

I was honestly in shopping mode. I did not put two and two together until after eating a unspecified amount of items from this order, this item has sodium issues. Dry roasted peanuts with salt have 230 mgs, honey roasted only 79 mg according to this site. I then went to google and it told me a plain old peanut has only 26mgs of sodium. If I bought Planters Caramel peanuts, the sodium there is only 110mgs.

So.Much.Disappoint. I can’t even let ‘MABIBBLE’ finish the bag (there’s about half left) because it has soy in it.

The Positive? This flavor was it tasted exactly like the nuts from Crackerjacks!

I loved picking the nuts out of this mix as a kid…I didn’t love getting the kernels stuck in my teeth – Great way to piss me off is giving me food that requires a flossing after eating.

Price is great too, 3.99 for a bag? A regular pound of peanuts is about the same amount.

I would rate this item a 6/10.

I would not buy it again due to sodium content.

BTW I would so rather eat plain old steamed Butternut (squash).

Thanks for reading,

– Bad touch Bear

For a review of French Burnt Peanuts: Click here

One thought on “A review of Nuts.com, Butternut Peanut

Leave a Reply

